OI Ljubljana
Sl

Employees

Head of the Department
Prof. Gregor Sersa, Ph.D. (Biol.)
SICRIS: 08800
E-mail: gsersa@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 94 34
Fax: 00386 1 587 94 34

 

Professor Dr. Gregor Sersa is currently the head of the Department of Experimental Oncology, at the Institute of Oncology Ljubljana and a Full Professor at the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Ljubljana. His research interest is translational research of electroporation based technology; predominantly electroporation-based gene transfer and drug delivery.

Deputy head

Assistant to Medical Director for Research and Education
Prof. Maja Cemazar, Ph.D. (Biol.)
SICRIS: 14575
E-mail: mcemazar@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 95 44
Fax: 00386 1 587 94 34 

Professor Dr. Maja Cemazar is currently the assistant to medical director for research and education of the Institute of Oncology Ljubljana and a Full Professor at the Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Primorska. She is also an active researcher in the Department of Experimental Oncology at the Institute of Oncology Ljubljana and at the Research Group of the Faculty of Health Sciences Izola. Her research interest is translational research of electroporation based technology; predominantly electroporation-based gene transfer and drug delivery.

Researchers

Simona Kranjc Brezar, Ph.D. (Biol.)
SICRIS: 19058
E-mail: skranjc@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 96 07

Simona`s research is focused on gene therapy and electrochemotherapy combined with radiotherapy, preclinical studies in vitro and in vivo.

Vesna Todorovic, Ph.D. (Biochem.)
SICRIS: 29469
E-mail: vtodorovic@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 94 37

Vesna's research is focused on induced radioresistance in head and neck squamous cell carcinoma.

Urska Kamensek, PhD (Biol.)
SICRIS: 28387
E-mail: ukamensek@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 94 37

Urska’s main research expertise lie in plasmid construction and gene therapy, principally gene electrotransfer. Currently, her research focuses on immunomodulatory therapies targeting cancer.

Tanja Jesenko, Ph.D. (Biochem.)
SICRIS: 33227
E-mail: tjesenko@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 95 45

Tanja's research is focused on DNA sensors and their effect on mediation of immune response in the context of bystander and abscopal effect of irradiation. She is also involved in development of biomedical applications of electroporation i.e. gene electrotransfer and electrochemotherapy.

Monika Savarin, Ph.D. (MMolBiol)
SICRIS: 35355
E-mail: mstimac@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 94 37

Monika`s researches focuses on targeting tumor vasculature by gene therapy in combination with irradiation

Boštjan Markelc, PhD (Biol)
SICRIS: 32175
E-mail: bmarkelc@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 95 45

Bostjan's research is focused on imaging the response of tumour blood vessels to radiation using intravital microscopy and transgenic animal models.

Masa Bosnjak, PhD (MPharm)
SICRIS: 34373
E-mail: mbosnjak@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 95 45

Masa's research is focused on DNA-specific pattern recognition receptor activation following DNA electroporation.

Spela Kos, Ph.D. (MPharm)
SICRIS: 36366
E-mail: skos@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 95 45

Špela's main research is focused on gene delivery into skin for the purpose of various medical applications.

Ursa Lampreht Tratar, PhD (DVM)
SICRIS: 36367
E-mail: ulampreht@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 94 37

Urša's research work covers the evaluation of antitumor and immunostimulating effects of gene electrotransfer of plasmid coding for IL-12. She is also involved in the treatment of spontaneous tumors in dogs by gene electrotransfer in combination with electrochemotherapy.

Irena Roškar, Ph.D. (MPharm)
SICRIS:  36281
E-mail: iroskar@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 587 95 45

Irena is responsible for the clinical trial design and preparation of documentation related to the clinical trials, including subsequent follow up.

Young researchers

Tim Božič, MBiochem
SICRIS: 51848
E-mail: tbozic@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 587 95 45

Tim is researching the effects of chemokines on the activation of anti-tumor immune response. He is using gene electrotransfer to deliver plasmid DNA encoding for chemokines into the tumors.

Katja Ursic, MFuncBiol
SICRIS: 38223
E-mail: kursic@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 94 37

Katja’s research work covers antitumor and immunomodulatory effects of electrochemotherapy, gene electrotransfer of plasmids coding for IL-12 and other immunotherapies.

Barbara Staresinic, MFuncBiol
SICRIS: 39122
E-mail: bstaresinic@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 95 45

Barbara’s research focuses on antitumor and antivascular effect of calcium electroporation, and intravital microscopy.

Tinkara Remic, MScRadBiol
SICRIS: 50593
E-mail: tremic@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 95 45

After completing MSc in Radiation Biology at the University of Oxford, Tinkara continues her research in the field of radiommunology as a young researcher.

Jerneja Varl (MPharm)
SICRIS: 50592
E-mail: jvarl@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 97 07

Jerneja's research work covers Human Papillomavirus-based testing, which is used as a cancer prevention tool in Slovenian national cervical cancer screening program ZORA.

Engineer in laboratory medicine

Mira Lavric
E-mail: mlavric@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 96 87

 

Secretary of Editorial Board of Radiology and Oncology

Mira Klemencic
E-mail: mklemencic@onko-i.si
Phone: 00386 1 587 93 69

 

Technical assistant

Elizabeta Dzekovic

 

 

 

© 2018 - Onkološki inštitut Ljubljana